Rate this post


Just lately, a involved reader contacted me stating that Vernors contained gluten. My investigation additional delved into the idea of corn gluten, and the protection of corn for these with Celiac Illness. Be a part of me for fairly a story!

How This All Began

So, as acknowledged, a reader expressed concern, after consuming Vernors. She acknowledged she grew to become sick after consuming it. She examined it along with her NIMA, and it displayed “gluten discovered.” She referred to as Dr. Pepper (who owns / produces Vernors) and so they advised her it contained gluten. So I did a fast on-line search, as a result of I drink Vernors on a regular basis. Nothing on the Vernors web site about gluten, however I did discover this on the Dr. Pepper web site.

Does Dr Pepper Contain gluten

True, whereas Dr. Pepper is clearly not Vernors, the above assertion on their FAQ web page involved me. (One among which is that we now not name it “Celiac Sprue” and likewise as a result of this group now not exists.) Their assertion about corn gluten, , IMO, causes undue concern for these with Celiac Illness. So what’s corn gluten?

How Does Wheat Gluten Differ from “Corn Gluten?”

Celiac Kids Connection What is gluten

The idea of gluten causes confusion. Some will even inform you gluten doesn’t exist with out kneading. (Insert eye roll.) Technically, gluten is the mix of prolamins and glutelin. These are each discovered within the endosperm of the the grain. This “What’s Gluten” diagram from Celiac Youngsters Connection explains it higher than I ever might.

In wheat, the particular glutelin is “glutenin.” For these with Celiac Illness, it’s particularly the glutenin and the prolamin gliadin that trigger a response. (The proteins in barley and rye are additionally problematic.) Generally folks name the protein in corn “gluten,” however it isn’t the identical factor.  Identical to “glutinous rice,” these with Celiac Illness also can eat corn.

What is Corn Gluten Canva Insta Image

“However I Learn Someplace Corn’s Not Protected”

So the place does this concept some from? An internet site cites this examine. Maize prolamins might induce a gluten like mobile immune response in some celiac illness sufferers.  Nonetheless, the summary states, “for some CD sufferers, as a uncommon occasion, peptides from maize prolamins might induce a celiac-like immune response.” Additionally, this examine was accomplished “in silico,” which implies “laptop simulation.” Not in folks. Subsequently, this examine is extra hypothetical than sensible.

Can you have got a corn intolerance or allergy? Completely, as defined on this publish from Past Celiac. I’m not dismissing the truth that corn might make you sick. I’m merely addressing the false idea that all folks with Celiac Illness can’t eat corn. Now we have sufficient anxiousness, and I’d like to alleviate a few of yours, if I can.

Again to Vernors and Dr. Pepper

In gentle of all of this, I contacted Dr. Pepper. I requested if Vernors contained gluten, and in that case, to call the supply of the gluten of their soda. Particularly, I requested if it contained wheat, rye, barley or corn. That is the reply I acquired.

“Thanks for contacting us about Vernors. We’re all the time excited to listen to from our customers. Your feedback give us worthwhile enter about our manufacturers and the way they’re loved.

For a full listing of our gluten free merchandise please go to the next web site: https://www.dpsgproductfacts.com/en/uncover/GLUTEN_FREE.

Once more, thanks for taking the time to contact us, Margaret. We enormously admire your suggestions!”

Dr Pepper Gluten Free Products

What Dr Pepper Merchandise Are Gluten Free?

So what Dr. Pepper merchandise are gluten free? Based mostly on the hyperlink they gave me, not a single considered one of their sodas. No Vernors. Not even Dr. Pepper. Which is ironic, for the reason that particular person Dr. Pepper web site states  IT IS gluten free. So I did some extra digging. I discovered this Vernors Ginger Soda Buyer Report on their web site. It states which allergens are current / absent in Vernors.

Vernors Ginger Soda Allergens and Sensitivities Consumer Report Sheet

Observe that, on this doc accessible on their web site, they listing wheat and gluten each as “absent.” It particularly lists gluten “sourced from however not restricted to wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, and buckwheat.” (P.S., buckwheat is a naturally gluten free meals.) So based mostly on this doc, Vernors accommodates no wheat, rye, barley or oats.

Dr Pepper Products Containing Gluten Allergen link

What Dr. Pepper Merchandise Do Include Allergens?

The Dr Pepper web site additionally has an “allergens” web page. They listing their merchandise by which allergens they comprise. Dr. Pepper even discloses which merchandise comprise grapefruit, sulfites and quinine on this web site web page. The one product listed containing gluten is their Horseradish Bloody Mary Combine. Not Vernors.

However What Concerning the NIMA Consequence?

Nima Never Validated to test Carbonated Sodas Is Vernors gluten free

 

On the NIMA web site, they disclose details about utilizing their testing equipment. This web page highlights what it may and may’t take a look at, and when to make use of warning in testing. On the backside of this web page, is states that NIMA is not validated to check carbonated drinks. So was the lead to her take a look at correct? Perhaps. Perhaps not.

Is Vernors Gluten Free

Is Vernors Gluten Free?

Basically, I hate the thought of “no matter works for you.” I like onerous details. Nonetheless, in the long run, you’ll should resolve this one for your self. I discover nothing within the ingredient listing to concern me. If Dr Pepper solely makes use of wheat of their Bloody Mary Combine, I doubt it can find yourself in Vernors. Any shared tools must be cleaned completely to stop switch of flavors. To not point out the Bloody Mary Combine isn’t carbonated.

The massive take away is that this. We want corporations to higher perceive what gluten is and what it’s NOT. Sadly, this isn’t the primary firm to inform folks that their product accommodates gluten as a result of presence of corn. Dr. Plogsted shares on this article how some prescribed drugs assume corn constitutes gluten of their medicines. Sigh.

Ask Your Personal Questions

Ultimately, contact corporations immediately when you’ve got a query a couple of product. Query sources, even when that supply is me! I could be simply as flawed as anyone else. Additionally, use common apple cider in my gluten free apple dumplings. Style MUCH higher than Mt. Dew or another soda or pop.

Observe- I contacted Dr. Pepper once more after their preliminary e-mail requesting extra data. I additionally offered the hyperlinks to the pictures I shared right here, asking for additional clarification. They’ve but to return my e-mail.